auto-add to cclist (inspired by roundup's nosy list)
|Reported by:||anonymous||Owned by:||Jonas Borgström|
Description (last modified by )
Following a discussion on the trac mail list about the usefulness of the nosy list in trac, and how easy to understand it is for the user:
Roundup's concept of the nosy list.
Basically it's a list of email addresses to be notified about changes to a ticket.
Whenever a user makes any change to a ticket, they are automatically added to the nosy list. Essentially, if you express a stake in a ticket, you are automatically notified for the rest of that ticket's lifecycle. It's a simple and intuitive model. If it turns out you don't want to be notified anymore, you can simply delete yourself fromt he CC list.
(useful information, but not exact feature requests) It's been a while, but IIRC Roundup also has ways for adding default entries in the nosy list as well as making it pretty easy to put hooks into the workflow to affect the nosy list. Roundup's email interface is actually extremely feature-rich (maybe overkill), handling user registration, ticket submissions, and maybe even reports (again, hard for me to remember). You can see the basic feature list here: http://roundup.sourceforge.net/doc-1.0/features.html
adopting the nosy list in trac
If (as proposed here) trac were to adopt the "nosy" concept, it would mean:
- the cc field (equivalent of the nosy) would be partially managed by trac
- the initial state of the cc field starts with the username of the reporter
- when owner is assinged/changed, the owner would be added to the cc field if not already there
- trac would never automatically remove anyone from the cc (identical to current behaviour)
- when the cc field is changed
- this behaviour "auto-add to cc list" could be a trac.ini configuration property
- "always notify owner" and "always notify reporter" (in trac.ini):
- could stay as they are - if a trac environment wants to ensure that owner/reporter always gets notified regardless of the cc status. suggest that the default is false for both.
- Alternatively these two configs could be ignored if "auto-add to cc list" is on (probably better for users, but confusing for administrators)