Edgewall Software
Modify

Opened 11 years ago

Closed 11 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

#9980 closed defect (fixed)

resync single revision doesn't resync the node_change table

Reported by: barry@… Owned by: Christian Boos
Priority: normal Milestone: 0.12.3
Component: version control Version:
Severity: normal Keywords: documentation
Cc: Branch:
Release Notes:
API Changes:
Internal Changes:

Description (last modified by Christian Boos)

repository resync repo revision doesn't do anything with the node_change table. This results in an incomplete resync. The only code I see that will resync the node_change table is a full repo resync. Is this by design or a bug? How does one completely resync a single svn revision?

Attachments (0)

Change History (6)

comment:1 by Christian Boos, 11 years ago

Description: modified (diff)

That's by design, we only reset the metadata of the revision.

repository sync <repos> [rev]

    Resume synchronization of repositories

    It works like `resync`, except that it doesn't clear the already
    synchronized changesets, so it's a better way to resume an interrupted
    `resync`.

    See `resync` help for detailed usage.

(as you can see, the inline doc is incomplete…)

This was implemented in order to support the post-revprop hook in Subversion (#6016).

The only reason I could see to resync completely a single svn change would be in case the actual file changes changed… did they implement svnadmin backout? ;-)

comment:2 by barry@…, 11 years ago

See #9979 for the reason to resync a single svn change.

comment:3 by Christian Boos, 11 years ago

Keywords: documentation added
Milestone: 0.12.3

Kept open for improving the trac-admin docs.

The idea would be to keep resync rev as it is (only about metadata), and have support sync rev for forcing the sync to start at rev instead of the youngest (use #9979 for that).

in reply to:  1 comment:4 by Christian Boos, 11 years ago

Follow-up to cboos:

That's by design, we only reset the metadata of the revision.

repository sync <repos> [rev]

   Resume synchronization of repositories

   Similar to `resync`, but doesn't clear the already synchronized changesets.
   Useful for resuming an interrupted `resync`.

   To synchronize all repositories, specify "*" as the repository.

(as you can see, the inline doc is incomplete…)

We should actually make it clearer that it's the same as resync, something like:

repository sync <repos> [rev]

   Resume synchronization of repositories

   It works like `resync`, except that it doesn't clear the already 
   synchronized changesets, so it's a better way to resume an interrupted
   `resync`.

   See `resync` help for detailed usage.

comment:5 by Remy Blank, 11 years ago

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

Change committed in [10850].

comment:6 by Remy Blank, 11 years ago

Owner: set to Christian Boos

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The owner will remain Christian Boos.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
to The owner will be changed from Christian Boos to the specified user.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences .
 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.