Edgewall Software
Modify

Opened 16 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

#7143 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Bad UI : Attachment page shows delete as the default action

Reported by: trac@… Owned by:
Priority: lowest Milestone:
Component: attachment Version:
Severity: minor Keywords:
Cc: lists@… Branch:
Release Notes:
API Changes:
Internal Changes:

Description

For large attachments, the most prominent action on the page is the delete attachment button. The link to the attachment is small and non obvious. I suggest that there should be a download button to download the attachment and that the delete button should be clearly separated from it.

Attachments (0)

Change History (6)

comment:1 by Christian Boos, 16 years ago

Component: generalattachment
Milestone: 2.0
Owner: changed from Jonas Borgström to Christian Boos
Priority: normallowest
Severity: normalminor

Well, we could add a download button, though that would be redundant with the "Download in other format" link just below it.

I don't think it's a real problem though, as the button is very prominently entitled Delete and even if you miss that, you get to a confirmation dialog before deleting the attachment for real.

comment:2 by Christian Boos, 14 years ago

Milestone: 2.0unscheduled

Milestone 2.0 deleted

comment:3 by Thijs Triemstra <lists@…>, 14 years ago

Cc: lists@… added

Works for me..

comment:4 by vlastimil.zima@…, 9 years ago

I found it annoying as well to have a Delete button much larger than Download links. Before I got used to it, I made it to confirmation several times before I realized I don't want to delete the attachment.

It bugs me every time since I have to search the fairly small download link in the page with such a big delete button. IMHO the biggest thing should be what most users want to do.

comment:5 by Ryan J Ollos, 9 years ago

Owner: Christian Boos removed

comment:6 by Ryan J Ollos, 7 years ago

Milestone: unscheduled
Resolution: wontfix
Status: newclosed

PatchWelcome, otherwise I don't see anything happening with this ticket.

Modify Ticket

Change Properties
Set your email in Preferences
Action
as closed The ticket will remain with no owner.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
to The owner will be changed from (none) to the specified user.

Add Comment


E-mail address and name can be saved in the Preferences .
 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.